Wiring/Lighting issue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Newbie here, I have an issue I'm afraid. Totally baffled trying to fit a spotlight at the Mother In Laws. I am no longer in the same building so will try to explain as well as I can!

I have three cores coming to the lighting point. Core one has red, black and earth, core two has red, blue, yellow and earth. Core three has red, blue, yellow and earth.

This is split to 5 choc blocks

Block one: Red from core one and core three
Block two: Red from core two and yellow from core three
Block three: Three earths, one from each core
Block four: Black from core one, blue from core two
Block five: Yellow from core two, blue from core three

I have a twin switch plate, switch one operates the spotlight I am fitting. Switch two operates an external light. I have tried all combinations with the spotlight. I can get permanently on, permanently off or... working with the switch however when the external light is switched on the indoor spot goes out. Originally with this set up I had two indoor spots. They worked perfectly with the switch however when the external light switched on one switched off and... if the internals were off with the external on the internals flashed like disco lights!

Does this need a professional?

Many thanks

Phil Nelson

Sponsored Links
trying to fit a spotlight at the Mother In Laws.
Is this an additional light or a replacement for one already there?

I have three cores coming to the lighting point.
Three cables which contain cores.

Core one has red, black and earth, core two has red, blue, yellow and earth. Core three has red, blue, yellow and earth.

This is split to 5 choc blocks

Block one: Red from core one and core three
Block two: Red from core two and yellow from core three
Block three: Three earths, one from each core
Block four: Black from core one, blue from core two
Block five: Yellow from core two, blue from core three