Woodburner/Heat store - do I need a coil fitted?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Apologies first I'm a newbie so questions may be a little dense :) More apologies, 'cos this is a bit long too!

We have some problems that have persisted for months and I'm pretty much going into meltdown!

We had a woodburner with back boiler installed which thermosyphons into a heat store (big hot water tank in the loft). When the store is up to temp, a stat clicks which operates a pump to transfer the hot water to a neutraliser in the airing cupboard. The gas boiler is also connected to a neutraliser.

The problem I have is that the stove often kettles and sometimes boils. The kettling sounds like I've put wet wood on and sometimes I hear a glug. This occurs at a flow from the stove as low as 70 degrees!

The heat store is completely open with no coils fitted. So the connections to the store are stove flow and return and neutraliser flow and return for the take-off to our heating system.

I've monitored temperatures using lots of sensors and found this:

1) Light the stove and stove flow, stove return and heat store temperatures rise as expected, eg 85F, 65R, 75HS.

2) When the HS is up to temp, the pump comes on to pump hot water to the neutraliser. At this point, there seems to be a merging of temperatures in the tank. Stove return, tank temp, heatstore flow and return are all about 70 degrees.

I think the mixing of the temperatures is that the heat store is completely open as it has no coil fitted. When the store pump comes on, stratification is destroyed as the water is mixed from the pump flow. The upshot is that stove return is raised very quickly by 10 degrees, hampering thermosyphoning.

I was wondering if the config of the heat store is OK? If the pumped circuit was connected via a coil or heat exchanger, maybe the turbulence wouldn't upset stratification?