Yale 6400 Multiple Sirens

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have a Yale 6400 and 2 working sirens. I was wondering if it's possible to add more sirens (big property) but I can't find an answer to this question. I've been emailing the Yale support site for weeks now and they won't give me a definitive answer. All they say is that more that one box isn't recommended, even though I've been using 2 sirens for the last 6 years - they can't seem to elaborate on why more than one siren is not recommended, or tell me if more than 2 sirens would actually work. So, I'm wondering if anyone on here can help?

Thanks,

Matt

Sponsored Links
With the HSA6400, you can add an infinite number of sirens.

They act as radio receivers only.

The control panel transmits a signal that the siren receives, with an identifing code that the receiver "learns" so it reacts only to that transmitter.

A radio transmitter does not know or care how many receivers are tuned to it.

The sirens are quite loud, and some say it is a good idea to put one indoors, but out of reach, e.g. on the landing ceiling where you need a stepladder, because it stresses and disorientates an intruder (and wakes you up)

In my own house I have a different system, but have an extra keypad and ceiling sounder upstairs where it will wake people. I have fire doors which block out sound.

You could (maybe still can) get a smoke detector for the HSA6400 so it acts as a noisy fire alarm. Again, the upstairs landing ceiling is a good place. They accept a large number of sensors.

The HSA3000 series sirens and sensors also work, and may be cheaper. It does not matter if you get round or rectangular cases. The 3000 keypads however are quite tricky to learn in to a 6000.

Last edited: