Learning how to plaster

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Whats the best way to learn how to plaster? Are there any good books, video's/DVDs that I can buy to teach me? Or has anyone got any links to some good sites that teach you how to plaster?

Whats the best surface to practice on? I haven't got any spare walls........... I heard you can get a sheet of wood (dunno if its ply or MDF) and practice on that.

I'm pretty good at DIY but I've never tried plastering.......... however I'm confident I'd be able to do it.

Sponsored Links
For backing coat use some lime mortar. i.e lime powder and sand. Because u can re-use it day after day just by re-mixing it. Ideal for practicing with.

Whats the best way to learn how to plaster?
I learnt by watching plasterers. It was easy for me cos being a plumber I would often work jobs where there were plasterers.
Dont know what you do for a living but it might be worth making friends with one and offer to 'knock up' for him on a weekend job or two.
I take the odd plastering job on and find it to be quite therapeutic.

Sponsored Links
Look at previous posts by legs-akimbo. Very informative.

I am a time served plasterer.Packed it in and became a heating engineer.Take my word for it,plastering aint theraputic.Its damned hard work, with no appreciation.

s999 said:
Whats the best way to learn how to plaster? Are there any good books, video's/DVDs that I can buy to teach me? Or has anyone got any links to some good sites that teach you how to plaster?

Have a try with the Gold Trowel DVDs. They do skip through the process a bit, but you can always re-wind and review again and again and again. They are no substitute for a proper trainer, but are better than nothing. Turn the sound off by the way, the background music is way too irratating - lift music on steroids!

http://www.goldtrowel.co.uk/