Fitting commercial pipework

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have very little experience of fitting "commercial" pipework. Is there any online guides for handling and fitting commercial sized pipework. Thats flanged pumps and fittings, threaded steel pipework.
Cheers
Mike

Sponsored Links
Knowing how to operate the threading machine is about as complicated as it gets.
Unless you're going to weld the pipes with MMA ,oxy/acety, Mig or Tig. Then it gets a bit more skilled.
Note I said "pipes" and not tubes.
If you want to call yourself a "tube fitter" it just don't sound quite right.

Knowing how to operate the threading machine is about as complicated as it gets.
Unless you're going to weld the pipes with oxy/acety. Then it gets a bit more skilled.
Note I said "pipes" and not tubes.
If you want to call yourself a "tube fitter" it just don't sound quite right.

They say its now cheaper than copper BUT much more time consuming to install? 6 and 2 three's I think!

If you want to use pipe and fittings that are easy and take very little skill try using SANHA or MAPRESS it doesn't come any easier :LOL:

Sponsored Links
What do you mean by 'commercial'? Tectite push-fit goes up to 54mm. Easier than crimp (Sanha/Mapress/XPress) and no special/expensive tools required to complete the joint.

Wouldn't be seen dead using tectite.

It's either galv, medium/heavy or stainless on most jobs.
Copper and pressfit getting more common but the fittings are really expensive.

For example prices a couple of days ago 67x67x28... With terms £80ea

Same in malleable is less than £30.

Swings and roundabouts, iron is cheaper than copper but more labour intensive.

With terms £80ea
:eek: :eek: :eek:

With crap terms including VAT, maybe. What make and from which merchant?

I see Nottingham as your location. Are you self employed? Do you do much commercial work?

X-press GAS. 67x67x28 list at 145+VAT
Just under £80+ VAT from both pipe/BSS