hotpoint washer wt721 ultima. f-08 fault , please help !!

Discussion in 'Appliances' started by dmax, 23 Dec 2010.

  1. dmax

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    today the machine did not empty properly then we got it emptied, before there was a fault code h20 coming up, then we opened door and clothes were still water logged so we tried to run a spin at 1200, the spin cycle did not start only the fault f-08 showed up in lcd window. its near xmas and we needd to get all our childrens clothes washed and sorted,can anyone please give us some advice. i have went in again just now, tried to run a spin but machine seems to start to run a spin then after about 10 seconds f-08 comes up on lcd. then i try to turn washing machine off at start /stop switch but it doesnt, i try to turn machine off at on /off switch but it doesnt, it will only turn off at the wall ?

    advice needed badly please , if someone could leave even a phone number we could call for advice if nessessary.

    thankyou all in advance
     
  2. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,008
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    First all all unplug it for 2 mins to clear error code. That error relates to heater or pcb fault. Check the wires on the heater then pcb make sure they are tight. Give the relays a tap on the pcb it could be stuck.
     
  3. dmax

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thankyou very much rocks but what is pcb ? also "give the relays a tap"? can you be more specific thanks
     
  4. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,008
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pcb is module / circuit board etc. Found at the back in the corner with a White cover over it. Remove rear cover to see. Relays are on the pcb.
     
  5. dmax

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i have now tried to run a rinse/spin for 30 minutes it seems to be going ok but that was only 3 minutes ago so i am keeping an eye on things meanwhile. though when i put it on a 1200 fast spin it will start up then stop in about 10 seconds showing the f-08 fault.

    if i get engineer out how much could this cost ? average ? i know all too well there are lots of cowboys out there who will let on it needs a whole new panel board or something, i just wouldnt be able to tell if we are getting ripped off or not.

    thanks
     
  6. dmax

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     
  7. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,008
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Call hotpoint total cost 100.00 parts and labour all in. Pcb is 80 quid on it's own. Plus a independent will cost you more, top pcb is also 60.00 ..
     
  8. dmax

    Joined:
    23 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Antrim
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so there are 2 pcb,s ? one at top £60 new, and one at back £100 for pcb plus labour costs ?

    thanks
     
  9. rocks1

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    5,951
    Thanks Received:
    1,008
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you call hotpoint the whole lot parts and labour will cost no more than a ton.
     
  10. jj45

    Joined:
    24 Dec 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My wife has had this prob also yesterday 23rd and she also tried to do a rinse spin cycle. It was the first time she used this function so I wonder could it contain the fault. Anyway I switched off at wall socket cleared clothes from m/c - you need to wait until door release activates - 30 secs and the I set a short wash with m/c empty hoping to clear fault which seems to be related to heater. This seems to have worked so we are now doing a fast wash - 30mins instead of the rinse/spin. Try this ok
     
  11. Emerald7

    Joined:
    12 Nov 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I am having the same problem with my Hotpoint washing machine. Can I ask how your story ended? Did an engineer come out to fix it? Or did the previous suggestions work i.e. tapping the relay etc. And if you got engineer how much did it cost to fix? Thanks.
     
  12. AV65

    Joined:
    25 Jan 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Machine: Hotpoint Ultima WT960
    Fault: F08

    Had this problem on a couple of occasions and it had nothing to do with heater
    failure. The fault is caused by a signal received from a pressure switch connected
    to the waste pump. Probable reasons for fault are blocked waste pipe or pump.
    It is an simple procedure to check and correct taking about 30 minutes.
    Please ensure you remove the main power lead from the socket before carrying out the checks.
    Remove the plastic cover at the rear of the machine this gives access to the pump and waste pipe. Remove the waste pipe from the pump some water will spill from the pipe so have a towel ready. Check and remove any blockages in the waste pipe this pipe must be clear before refitting. Check the pump outlet and ensure it is clear of any blockage, be careful in front of the pump outlet is a rubber cover this is normal it is a none return flap. Gently lift the flap toward you and you can then check the pump outlet behind is clear. Try gently squeezing the inlet pipe to the pump this will lift the flap and some water will probably come out. Replace waste pipe and ensure rubber flap in place.

    Remove the top cover from the machine you will find the pressure switch at the side it as a 6mm clear pipe attached to it that is connected to the pump pipe below. You can remove the switch from the retaining clip then remove the clear pipe. Holding the pressure switch gently blow into it you should hear the switch click on and off. If you dont you may have a faulty switch. Take the clear plastic pipe and blow down it to make sure its clear. If ok Refit pipe on switch and and clip back in place.
    Replace all covers before connecting power lead and testing.

    hope that helps
     

Share This Page