National Grid

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I had to have the National Grid called out over weekend to deal with a gas leak from a new gas appliance that been fitted a day early by a trained / certified fitter. The person from National Grid said that the fitting used was incorrect causing the leak. The gas fitter said he used the fitting the appliance came with which I believe, though National grid said the fitter should of spotted it was wrong.

The original gas fitter said he tested it and it was ok, but when I walked into property it was very bad, the property wasn't occupied at the time it was lucky I called in on the off chance, or I wouldn't of been around for another week. I didn't want the orginal fitter to come back so got another gas man in to sort it after National Grid had disconnected it.

I've no experience of National Grid till now (they were good though) just wondered how reliable I should take what they said.

Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
If its an old school NG fitter he will know what he is talking about newer ones not always so.
Washer missing does not make an inappropriate fitting it is a wrongly fitted correct fitting, i would imagine this is the fitting that connects pipe at back of cooker to the cooker flex.

We all love detail so that we can consider the ins and outs!

Until I see a photo or a good description I cannot think anything.

I dont even know what type of appliance it is!

As Gas112 said, it isn't necessarily an incorrect fitting. On occasion I have had to use engineering judgement and use thread sealing tape/fluid where a washer was either missing, or the thread wasn't long enough to reach (with SUPPLIED fittings too).

Does sound like a hob/cooker... but need more info/pictures.

Did the NG guy record the levelof escape? It will be in millibars.

Why did you not feel inclined to give the original fitter a chance to rectify?