16mm tails need replacing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Guys

See the attached picture. The Henley block you see has the main tails going in from the meter and then two old 16mm tails coming out from the block to the CU. Unless I'm mistaken to comply with regs these tails now have to be 25mm. (TNS system) 25mm will not fit into the load side of the Henley block. What is the best way to convert this?

Also some advice please. The other tails you see are the supply to the house next door. The insulation on the N and CPC look pretty amateurish. Is this common? Is it legal? Should they be changed?

Cheers
is.php
[/img]

Sponsored Links
i may be wrong, and im not an expert, but have they used SWA and TAPED the earth core onto the sheath????? One thing's sure, its not terminated correctly. It should be in a box.

Sponsored Links
Looks like split concentric as opposed to SWA, it does look a bit dodgey, but aside from that, can't really comment, not really sure how it should be done.

Change the henley block for one that takes 25mm² tails, or just stick with 16mm² tails as long as the fuse is 80A or less, which you ain't going to know unless you cut the seal and take a look at it, so you might as well change the henley block while you have it out anyway ;)

The old tails also look like VIR but I may be mistaken. Do they have a cotton covering?

pdcelec said:
The old tails also look like VIR but I may be mistaken. Do they have a cotton covering?
is this a bad thing? mine have cotton covering (i think, im not touching them to feel it, but they aren't plastic or rubber)

crafty1289 said:
pdcelec said:
is this a bad thing? mine have cotton covering (i think, im not touching them to feel it, but they aren't plastic or rubber)

It can be a bad thing, but testing is the only real way to tell. The insulation tends to be crumbly and can fall off easily. It should be noted that this type of cable is at least 40 years old and maybe older