2 slow heat up downstairs radiators

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
It is my first time here to ask for an advice and I should have posted it ages ago. There may be a problem of my downstairs radiators in the hall and the sitting room. They seem to take a lot longer to heat up than the rest of the radiators in the house.

Prior this happens, all the radiators in the house heat up very quickly and work as normal. However, during last Christmas, there was pump over problem in the F&E tank in the loft. I was not too sure what caused the pump over but eventually my local plumber advised me to turn down the pump setting from the normal level 2 to level 1. This stopped the pump over problem. The local plumber suspected that I have the pump over problem for a while without realising it.

During the cold spell I noticed that the these two radiators were taking some time to heat up. They are hot at the top of the radiator to begin with and eventually works to the bottom of the radiators about an hour later whereas the radiators in the rest of the house are piping hot. There is no air in the radiators. The valves are the normal control and lockshield type. Both radiators are less than 3 years old.

Can anyone offer an explanation or solution?

A bit of history:
The heating system is used to be Gravity Feed with the boiler on the floor but the last owner installed the current boiler on the kitchen wall with a pump fitted above the boiler. The pump is Grundfos Selectric; the boiler is Potterton NetaHeat Electric 10-16, both are over 15 years old. The property is an average 3 ups 2 downs.

Sponsored Links
This is a typical situation of a blinkered or turn your back approach. Perhaps the plumber sensed that you did not want to pay to fix it properly or perhaps he was just too busy?

If its pumping over then its usually sludged up or there is a blockage. Turning the pump down does nothing to remove the blockage.