28mm drain cock?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
There is a stuck draincock on the return pipe close to the boiler. The pipe is 28mm.

When I get around to draining down the system in the summer (to fix up a load of things) I want to replace this drain cock but I can't see where to buy a replacement from.

Do I need to buy a 28mmx28mmx15mm tee and then hook up a 15mm drain cock into the reduced tee?

Oh and while I'm here, would anyone mind telling me what I need to search for to replace the stop-end that is currently at the end of a vertical 22mm pipe in the airing cupbaord? I think I need some kind of bleed vent so I can remove trapped air from there but I'm not exactly sure what to buy.

Any advice v gratefully received with thanks!

Sponsored Links
I am a householder not a pro, but I had something similar. It is an advantage to have a full-bore drain cock, as it is very fast, and the good flow also helps wash out sediment. An ordinary 15mm drain cock has very poor flow. However the heat of a primary circuit tends to make cock washers perish and seize. One way is to have a fullbore gate valve feeding a stub pipe. If the gate is normally closed, the stub will not get very hot, only by conduction a matter of inches. Gate valves do not give a perfect seal, so on the end of the stub you can put e.g. a hose connector, with a capnut to blank it off and prevent drips when not being used, or a ballofix or similar water-tight valve. If you just rely on the gate you will get drips. You could even tee off a stub with no gate, and rely on the length of the stub to prevent it getting very hot.

I used a 3/4" washing-machine valve on the end of the stub, because you can get a hose connector that allows you to drain with a good seal and no drips