2D communal lights to LED conversion

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

My block of flat has 64 round wall communal lights, using 2D 4 pin tubes (16w). Most lights are also emergency lights (with battery packs).

If we want to convert those to LED, is it just a matter of buying a 2D LED lamp to replace the fluorescent tube?

Something like http://www.ledison-led-lights.co.uk/p/LED+2D+Lamp+9watt/62.htm

Will the battery pack still operate?

Ideally, we are looking for replacements with motion sensor (microwave sensors), built-in battery packs and 16 watt equivalent (warm white), but I can't source those in the UK, so may just replace the tubes by LED for now.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
The spec does say "direct replacement". So it should work.
I have had no experience with this, before you jump in and buy 64, just buiy one or two and check them out.

Do let us know how you get on..

They are only direct replacement for magnetic ballast types WITH THE STARTER REMOVED. They are unlikely to be compatible with your em type.

You can get repayment LED lamps with their own in built em kits.

I would advise you to look at the Kosnic ones, which have the em pack. I woud also advise you get a electrician to fit the em ones, as a little rejigging would be required in the fitting.

It by far better to disconnect the starter completely.

Ideally, we are looking for replacements with motion sensor (microwave sensors), built-in battery packs and 16 watt equivalent (warm white), but I can't source those in the UK

Try uk company JCC, there Led fittings are round and a modern version of the 16 watt fitting, they also do a motion sensor which fits on the side by drilling a 20mm hole

Sponsored Links
Ideally, we are looking for replacements with motion sensor (microwave sensors), built-in battery packs and 16 watt equivalent (warm white), but I can't source those in the UK