3 cold radiators on top floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've a 4 year old townhouse with an ideal classic se15ff boiler. I've noticed now having put the heating on that 3 rads on the top floor are stone cold (as are the pipes to and from the rads). Other radiators on the top floor are working fine.

I also found the pressure was very low. I've now topped this up and bled all radiators but the problem remains. Due to the low pressure I'm assuming that the problem is likely to be due to an airlock in the pipes...??

I've tried switching all radiators off and turning the heating on to try and blast through the airlock - no luck

I'd be grateful for any suggestions on troubleshooting this? Should I drain off and refill the system perhaps? I have little plumbing experience but have some handy friends!

Cheers,

-H

Sponsored Links
Where is the pressure gauge and what is it reading now?

Have you tried turning off all the WORKING rads?

Tony

Hi tony,

Thanks for coming back.

The pressure gauge is located on the top floor by the hot water tank and reads 1.5. It was right down to about 0.2!

I have tried turning off just the working rads - that's what I meant originally sorry.

-H

if the offending rads are completley full of air. and you have turned all the others off to try and force heat into them.
Would be looking at thermostat pins stuck on rad valves.

Sponsored Links
Hi,
The rads aren't full of air. I've bled them and now only cold water comes out. Also the pipes to and from the rads are also stone cold - hence I think there may be a pipe blockage elsewhere. Any suggestions?
-H

If you turn off each rad valve in turn then does plenty of water still bleed out ?

Tony

Hi,
Yes they are all modern rads with therm valves. Tony are you suggested I turn off just the cold rads (or all) and bleed? What is that going to tell me? I can try this later when I'm home.
Thanks again for your help.
H