5a juction boxes, good idear?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I had a plasterer come round my house and skim my walls after a sparky had re-wired my house.
He went through two cables with his trowel. One was 3core and earth going to the light switch in the upstairs hall and one was supplying the upstairs smoke alarm. As it was a sunday i had no choice but to go to a shed and get two junction boxes to connect each cable back together. i used 5A junction boxes. i have since been told i should have use 20a boxes. Are the 5amp safe? The mcb is on the consumer unit is 6a.

As you can guess i have limited electrical experience so please go easy if the above was a stupid question!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
For a start the Spark should have capped the cable when he rewired your house to prevent such problems with the plasterers trowel

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Index/Cable_Accessories_Index/Capping/index.html

anyhow your JBs are only good for 5A so if your lighting load exceeds 5A then I suppose they are potentially dangerous, but TBH I would think they would be ok

BTW how have you positioned the JBs i.e. are they visible or buried....?

personally I would have repaired the cable with a through crimp (butt splice) crimp terminal like these:
http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CTBUTTslashB.html

then after the repair cover the lot in heatshrink.

Thanks for your help.
The jb's are not in the best of places (i will probably be told off for this). They are behind the skirting board in the cavity wall. Access is not easy but you can get to them if you really had to.

Sponsored Links
green121 said:
Thanks for your help.
The jb's are not in the best of places (i will probably be told off for this). They are behind the skirting board in the cavity wall. Access is not easy but you can get to them if you really had to.

Not really accessible then. Not in the "can gain access to them without wrecking the place" sense of the word!