65kg punch bag frame in garden

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Posted: Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:28 am Post Subject: External frame for 65kg punch bag

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here's the situation: Have a small area about 1.5m x 3.0m which is underneath a timber roof enclosed by a blockbuilt outbuilding a decking area and garden fence with a timber roof over. The ground is currently covered with a thin layer of gravel and the roof structure I do not believe would support the bag especially because of the 'live' nature of the load - moving when it's being hit.

I'm thinking of digging a trench and mass filling with concrete then bolting a timber post to the ground or sinking it into the concrete. This will allow me to hang a shop bought heavy bag hanger to one side of the post at the top and hopefully that will work. The bag is 65kg (145lb roughly) with 3 point chain to hang it.

Since I'm a new home-owner I'm new to the DIY thing and wondering if anyone has any better ideas or solutions or maybe have done something similar.

Also timber post sizes to support this kinda load would be useful. The bag is currently in my parents garage supported on a metal brace between two joists.

Any advice, suggestions or related topics/forums would be brilliant.
Photos are in my profile albums under 'Future 65kg punch bag location'

Thanks
DIY div

Sponsored Links
Sounds like a lot of time, trouble and expense if you don’t mind me saying. If you can just hang it from an overhead beam, like I have done, it’s a lot easier.

Not saying I have a solution to your problem, but I can tell you I suspended mine from a beam in my lean-to and it’s been fine.

The only thing I have found is it does resound, the roof acts like a diaphragm, so what I intended to do but still haven’t got around to it yet is include a strong spring to isolate the bag from the roof.