6mm Cable

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

After some advice.

Got 6mm running to an outside socket as I knew we would be putting power in the shed... Am I okay to run the armoured from the socket now as originally that socket was only a adaptable box, in anticipation of the power to the shed.

Am I just over thinking it ‍♂️

I'm an electrical trainee.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Read this and this on loss of PEN then consider what you think.

The material used to build the shed may change what you think, and remember the first one is a bit out of date now.
Thanks Eric..

It's on a 32a breaker in a spare way in an RCD protected board.. originally it was going to be 6mm armoured straight to a DB in the shed, but there is a socket before the shed now..

Thanks Eric..

It's on a 32a breaker in a spare way in an RCD protected board.. originally it was going to be 6mm armoured straight to a DB in the shed, but there is a socket before the shed now..
Having a break (at the position of the socket, whether that socket is kept or not) is not really an issue/problem.

I presume the potential issue eric was eluding to was the question of what you are going to do about earthing in the shed - export the house earth, have a local TT electrode at the shed or what?

Kind Regards, John

Sponsored Links
What is your electric supply type?
What is the shed made of?
What services will be in the shed that might introduce an earth potential (water pipe etc)?

Thank you for replying,

TNC-S

Wooden shed and just two sockets and a light... No load at all apart from maybe a fridge.

No water or metal needing bonding

So should be no problem exporting the earth to the shed.
SWA he really doesn’t need RCD protection, but to u’ll need to keep the RCD at the origin because of the socket in the middle of the run.
You won’t therefore need another RCD at the shed end.