A complex problem?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, Newbie here seeking help with a lighting problem.

A couple of weeks ago I noticed that the lamps and ceiling lights tended to flicker much more than before. Today when my wife came home we had a very short power outage, which lasted for 2 or 3 minutes. She checked with the neighbours, but no-one else had a problem. The power restored itself, no circuits had tripped.

When I got home I tried to load up the system to see if I could make the flickering worse, or if I could find a hot spot on the CU. The lights didn't flicker at all, but the lights MCB tripped after about 10 minutes. The MCB was very slightly warmer than the others. The MCB reset no problem

Now, I suspect there may be a problem with the MCB connection wiring, or maybe an appliance or ground leak. But none of this explains the short outage?

Very confused, and any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Paul

P.S. Pretty sure this is coincidental, but my 9kw shower decided to gradually die over the past day or two. Probably not connected, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

Sponsored Links
You would do well to check all connections in the consumer unit, but this needs great care & the right tools.

Your neighbours could be on a separate phase to you, so you could still have experienced a supply problem, which could have led to lights flickering followed by a power cut. Regarding your lighting MCB tripping, what did you do to load it up?

Do not try this unless you feel 100% confident/competant to do it.The CU needs to be isolated at the mainswitch but the incoming terminals on the mainswitch will still be live.It is also worth checking that the MCB is located correctly on the busbar.Again if in doubt seek help from a competant electrician

Sponsored Links
Is the problem just in one part of your house or is it everywhere?

ie, usptairs is OK, but downstairs flickers?