AAC or Drywall?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I'm a student, currently living in Slovakia and I've agreed to help renovate a property here.

I've been doing some research and can't really decide what method to go for, hopefully someone will be able to give some valuable input.

The property in question is a 60-70 year old bungalow, without any insulation currently, I'm proposing to gut the whole lot and insulate it, re-wire it, re-plumb etc.

The walls are made of Mortar/rubble/mud/whatever they could find.

I'm proposing to knock the render off on the inside as there is a bit of a damp problem and breathing issues (Don't worry, new floors will be fitted as well, as well as a Heat recovery ventilation system)

Now the thing I am stuck on, I wish to build a new internal wall inside each room, for insulation properties, as well as being able to run cables and the likes inside it or inside the surface.

Now do I go for:

Plasterboard (Drywall) with a Wooden or Metal studwork, damp proof membrane, and 50mm of Mineral wool insulation.

OR

"Ytong" AAC (Aerated Autoenclaved concrete)

I've been looking at the K / R values of both materials, as well as the costs, and I think the costs will both end up roughly similar, with the AAC being slightly more expensive.

The AAC has less thermal resistance than the mineral wool, but it seems to do away with any risk of damp forming, and is far more "sturdy" than drywall.

Does the AAC still require a damp proof coursing behind it, and a air gap?

I'm a bit worried about creating a cold bridge if I end up using metal or wooden studwork.

Any opinions? I don't mind it being slightly more expensive if the overall quality will be better, I also don't mind if its slightly more work to finish, as long as the finish is good.

Regards,
Daniel.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the overwhelming response! :LOL:

99% decided on AAC (Ytong) now...

Calculated I need approx 200M[sup]2[/sup] of wall, at approx €9,- per M[sup]2[/sup]