Accenta/Optima alarm works, but doesn't beep

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, newbie here and I'm having some alarm trouble. Well, technically speaker trouble or something because the alarm itself works fine!

I have the Accenta/Optima system. I can't tell you much more than that because I'm only basing that off the manual - the alarm was already installed when we bought the house. We have one system in the house and another in the garage, which is a separate building, but the alarms are linked. The actual alarm units are different to each other. The main, larger one in the house and a smaller one in the garage. I'm guessing that one is called Accenta and the other Optima but that's a complete guess just based on the name on my manual!

Anyway, the one in the house works fine. I open the front door, the alarm beeps, I press the buttons, which beep, and the alarm disables. The one in the garage however, doesn't make a sound. It definitely works because the alarm still goes off, meaning it sets fine and detects fine, but whatever is meant to make the unit beep, isn't working.

I'm not sure exactly when it started happening. I've been in the house just over 2 years and it did used to beep ok when I walked in the garage, so its something that's stopped working since I've been here. I don't know if its something that I've done accidentally (eg somehow disabled the beeping by pressing something in a panic when the alarm has gone off!) or if its something that has broken in the system.

Can anyone offer any advice? I'm hoping that its something I can do without having to get someone out to look at it, but I'm clueless.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Wow thanks for the quick reply! Is the sounder in the keypad unit or is it separate? sounds like I'll need someone out thought does it?

Is it not possible that I've somehow set the unit in the garage into some kind of silent mode?

and it did used to beep ok when I walked in the garage,