ACL Motortrol valve replacement info?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I had a problem with the valve on my heating system. Simply it stopped working. I could move the manual lever with alot of effort to manual so I assumed it was worn out. It is located on the exit side of my pump, one exit to the hot water tank the other the heating (rads).
The cover is marked
acl Appliance Components Ltd motortrol
Volts 240
Hz 50
Watts 10
Maximum 200 PSI system Pressure
I can't read all of the part number but what I can see is the last part
14 30L0
It has three wires and the diagramme on the metal cover reads like this:
Brown +
Power
Blue -
OPT. GREEN Earth (using the earth sign)

The plumber fitted a new vavle which I have put in the manual position. This lets me have hot water only. He has now told me the valve he fitted is wrong and as the old one had three wires and the new one has five I thought this was the case (I'm no plumber but I am a mechanical engineer).
So I've thought the best idea is for me to get the new valve so he can fit it.
Does any one know the replacement name and part number? I assume it's a Drayfos (?) I got that far on the web but no further.
I need help here. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
you had a diverter valve fitted before that has 3 wires and only gives priority to hw.

the one he has fitted is a mid position that gives hw - heating or both which is a better idea. why not keep that and wire it in properly

If I understand correctly. My original had two positions: hot water or heating. The new one has hot water, heating, or both. That sounds correct as if I had the hot water timer set to come on it would over ride the heating and the rads would go cold - great design :rolleyes: