Advice for replacing cold water tank/system boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all.

This is my first time posting - I am not versed in plumbing or heating so please forgive any ignorance. In short, I am looking to move from a system boiler (with cold water tank in loft) to a combi boiler system. However I have poor pressure and flow rate, and would welcome suggestions. I have provided more detail on my circumstances below...

DETAIL:

I have a mid terraced property in West London (ground, first and loft). It has a system boiler located in a bed room cupboard, with a cold water tank in the loft. The property currently has 1 bathroom but are about to install an en-suite (shower only) in the loft. There are 9 radiators.

The street has poor pressure (Thames Water claim that they are supplying 2 bar). The property itself also has poor pressure, which Thames Water measured at 1.8 bar, which based on the discussions on this forum seems to me to be static pressure. The static flow rate is approximately 15 litres per minute, measured from the cold water tap in the garden (which connects direct to the mains). There is certainly a drop in the flow rate when I open the cold water tap in the kitchen sink. Note, this is all after having replaced old lead piping for a new MDPE 25mm pipe.

The heating (gas) bills are horrendous and I would ideally like to eliminate the cold water tank from the loft (also to make more room in the loft). This is bearing in mind that I would like the possibility to run two showers at the same time.