Advice on making good the walls after new wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I've just purchased a new flat and want to install some extra sockets in some of the rooms, as well as concealing existing exposed wiring. The flat has solid (concrete) floors so I can't run the cabling under floorboards.

I think the best plan is to chase the cables into the plaster on the wall. I am happy with sorting out the wiring work, but was wondering if someone could give me advice about how to handle the plastering.

My thoughts were that I could chisel out a channel in the existing plaster, a few centimeters wide running from the existing sockets. The plastering is currently in very good condition so I was hoping to cut the channels just above the skirting board, lay the cable (and install the new sockets) and then make good the plaster work.

Is this possible to get a good finish as a DIY project, considering I have no plastering knowledge / experience and only have weekends available to work on this or would I need to pay a plasterer? If it is do-able on my own could someone recommend what products I would need and point me in the direction of some websites etc giving instructions? Would it be possible to do this using a filler (if I left some good plaster between the skirting and the channel then a normal filling knife would get a level finish, but would it have the same texture / finish as the existing plaster when its painted? If it's not feasible as a DIY project could a plasterer just make good the damage or would they need to skim the entire walls to get a decent finish?

Hope someone will have the time to give me some pointers, and many thanks for taking the time to read this.

Sponsored Links
Welcome to you,