Advice re Mira Event XS Thermostatic Power Shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Newbie here.... who knows next to nothing about plumbing/showers etc., so looking for some advice.

We are currently renovating our main bathroom and have decided to instal a shower, which we didn't have before. After getting several quotes from the local plumbers etc, we were steered towards a Mira Event XS power shower as we have a cold water tank in the loft and a separate hot water tank located downstairs in our utility room, and it was explained that it would be best with that set up.

However, went out and bought one (since I managed to get one £100 cheaper than the quote to supply!) and our last plumber came out tonight for a final quote before we commit and he has worried me a bit by stating that because the hot water tank is "pressurised", he doesn't know if the Mira Event would be compatible....tried looking on the internet, but not really sure if he's right or not.....anyone help?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
if its a pressurised hot water cylinder you won't have a cws in the loft.

does it look like this
Megaflow.jpg

or this
resize.jpg

if its the first one then its no good for that system.

Thanks for the reply, seco services. Apologies....I really am totally ignorant about all things DIY/plumbing etc... The shape of the tank is probably more like the first one although it has a padded lagging sealed over the actual cylinder....the pipes etc don't look like those in the first pic, but not sure if that's just the way this one is set up or not....I can tell you that one of the pipes goes to a smallish red tank (like an oxygen cylinder or something) with a gauge on it. From what the plumber said today, it was because one of the pipes fed to this red tank that he said it was a pressurised tank.