Aerial Power Supply from Lighting

Joined
16 Jun 2006
Messages
6,609
Reaction score
1,219
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
I recently fitted the existing amplifier supply in a customer's loft. I believe that the electrician took the socket off the lighting ring. Previously, the power supply had been plugged in to a socket on the first floor but that was the only room that the customer no longer wanted an aerial in. There was no space behind any of the 3 wall mount tv.s to plug the amplifier supply.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
7 Jul 2010
Messages
38,627
Reaction score
4,719
Location
Retired to:
Country
Portugal
It is very unlikely the lighting circuit is a ring - almost certainly a radial circuit.

Ring is not just another word for circuit.
 
Joined
28 Jul 2006
Messages
21,150
Reaction score
2,266
Location
Oxfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Could be someone like you panicking over nothing.
Says the person who baulks at the (allowed by wiring regulations) practice of connecting a BS1363 socket to a lighting circuit.

Winston, you are going to have to stop your wife going up in the loft and plugging her MIG welder into the socket for the TV amplifier.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
11 Jan 2010
Messages
7,959
Reaction score
660
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Says the person who baulks at the (allowed by wiring regulations) practice of connecting a BS1363 socket to a lighting circuit.

Has it occurred to you the regs may be wrong? Just like they were with 1.0mm2 cable or the spacing of bathroom sockets which have now been corrected in the latest amendment.
 
Joined
11 Jan 2010
Messages
7,959
Reaction score
660
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Do you know what “wire less” means? There are no wires between the base and the toothbrush. Wire less.
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
6,667
Reaction score
568
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
The sockets on my loft are off the power ring.
You have a power ring circuit? Surely that's a waste of Earths resources?
Why what are you running in your loft that makes it necessary to introduce more power circuits and use up valuable Earths resources?
Surely the 5.8A spare on the lighting circuit is adequate for pretty much anything that needs to be powered in there. Except of course your illicit wacky baccy plants.
 
Joined
11 Jan 2010
Messages
7,959
Reaction score
660
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
You have a power ring circuit? Surely that's a waste of Earths resources?
Why what are you running in your loft that makes it necessary to introduce more power circuits and use up valuable Earths resources?
Surely the 5.8A spare on the lighting circuit is adequate for pretty much anything that needs to be powered in there. Except of course your illicit wacky baccy plants.
All the sockets in my bungalow are fed from the loft. Having solid floors makes it the best way of doing it.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top