Air keeps getting into CH system?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to all this, so please bear with me :)

Recently had the pump replaced in the CH system (Grundfos 15-90N I think) and since then, there is a decent amount of air trapped in the system - you can hear it swooshing through the boiler and especially at the pump next to the hot water tank.

The plumber who fitted the pump came round and drained the system and that seemed to remove the air temporarily, but the problem came back the next day.

His theory is that the air separator (small grey thing behind the Grunfos in the pic below) could be filled up with rust (quite a bit of black water came out the old pump) and it's exacerbating the problem by not really separating the air.

Any ideas how to troubleshoot this before taking the step to remove the air separator? I've bled the radiators off frequently, and it seems like the air that's bled off just keeps getting replenished.

It's an open-vented system, with a header tank and expansion tank supplying 9 radiators. Pics below of the tanks pipework:

Tanks in the loft
View media item 82962Hot water tank
View media item 82963 [/u][/b]

Sponsored Links
Hold a magnet on the pipework around the air separator if it attracts you have a blockage usually in the cold feed pipe (the 15mm one).
Or you can fill a jug of water go in the loft and submerge the vent pipe to see if it sucks the water.
Sounds like a good chemical flush and rad flush wouldn't do it any harm.
You also need to confirm what pump it is and what speed it's set at.

Just away to leave work, but I think the pump it set to speed III - i.e. the highest. Might be worth lowering it I suppose?

It's still worth doing the other things suggested but if it was ok before the pump was swapped it is worth looking at that aswell.

Sponsored Links
The pump model is a Grundfos UPS 15-60 130, set at II out of III.