Alarm problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have just puchased a house, It has an alarm system which was fitted by ADT alarms.It looks like a fairly complicated syetem.
The problem is that it has been triggered 16 times while the house was empty because the estate agents had the wrong code and every time they went in the house the alarm was triggered. It now tells me to contact ADT with the fault code and they will give me a new reset code. When I contacted ADT they will not help as I am not the registered owner and they can't find any trace of this installation.
There is a large box in the garage with a Honeywell Security sticker on it, also Galaxy 3-144c on the label. I am a TV engineer by trade and have fitted a couple of alarms in the past but I am not sure how to solve this one. Any help much appreciated. Regards. ;)

Sponsored Links
and you have a keypad that looks like

rkp.jpg

may not have coloured buttons, and doesnt say diy not

there is nothing you can do about it other than take out a contract with an alarm company :cry:

it actualy needs, as you know a remote reset code, which only adt can give you, (it is based on an algorithimic code that is peculiar to adt) or it needs an adt enginneer (with the adt engineer code) or another alarm company will crash and reprogrrame it there are no short cuts i am sorry to say

When we moved in the house had an ADT alarm - previous occupier had the user code but not the other codes. Contract had expired.

ADT came and re-set to factory settings, engineer also explained that I could have done this myself - cost was around £80.

If you want to do it yourself start by finding out whose control panel/keypads they are and get manuals. these may help you do a factory reset.

BTW you probably do not have an external sounder - it may just be a dummy box.

Must remember to use spell checker. .