Allotments

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Anyone on here got one or grow their own veg at home?

Just been over mine to check on some of my seedlings and they're all coming along just fine.

D0521811-20CF-4AD4-B220-162015B99508.jpeg

Sponsored Links
Looks good (y)

A good tip I got from one of the old timers down on my allotment was, he starts leeks off (seed) in a large plant pot, he just lobs a loads of seeds in, waits until they are 3" tall then just transplants (individually) in dibbed holes in the ground. I've been using this method for a few years, it works a treat.

I'll try sweetcorn again this year, but it wasn't very good last year:(

What tommies are you growing, Mountain Magic is a new one someone is trying, as it's blight resistant... apparently.

I'll try sweetcorn again this year, but it wasn't very good last year:(
My sweetcorn was going great last year. So great the squirrels polished off the lot over one weekend!

My toms this year are Tomato Shirley, Gardeners delight and one other (can't remember the name). Last year I did some cherry tomatoes as well as 'moneymaker' and I lost them all to blight as did everybody on our allotment and in the local area.

Last edited:
My sweetcorn was going great last year. So great the squirrels polished up the lot over one weekend!

My toms this year are Tomato Shirley, Gardeners delight and one other (can't remember the name). Last year I did some cherry tomatoes as well as 'moneymaker' and I lost them all to blight as did everybody on our allotment and in the local area.
Makes a change from the mice/rats eating it:eek:

I'm doing sungold tomatoes this year, as they are the best I've tasted so far.

Sponsored Links
I stopped growing veg a few years ago and focussed on fruit and flowers, with a patch dedicated to herbs, instead.
Had to clear the ground and leave it fallow for a year or two as the area had become swamped with slugs and ants.
Dealt with them and now it's all manageable once more.