American threads

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Avoiding hijacking a thread.
Americans. AF stands for American Fine (not across flats as many incorrectly believe).
My experience of threads over the years is that USA, unlike UK, had national standards for their threads.
Originally there was USS which the Americans I used to work with (Ex USAF and prior to that Car manufacturing industry) referred to it as 'American Standard Thread' however I'll make an assumption it was really something like 'United States Standard' but I'll stress it is my assumption. IIRC it was established by one of the universities.
These threads were very coarse and a finer thread was introduced for Automobile applications refered to as SAE.
These two standards have been superceeded by 'Unified Thread Standard' (UTS) USS & SAE are now effecfively UNC & UNF plus UNEF (Unified Course, fine and extra fine).

No where have I heard of 'American Fine'. However again I'll stress I'm not a nut expert, I've never been to USA or worked in an American industry so my experience is not total.

I'd appreciate more information relating to 'American Fine' please.

Sponsored Links
No where have I heard of 'American Fine'. However again I'll stress I'm not a nut expert, I...
Nor have I, and nor am I (but my father definitely was a "thread expert" - but I can't ask him because he died over 50 years ago!) - although I have known of people (in addition to winston) who think that "AF" means "American Fine".

Even Mr Google knows almost nothing about it but, in terms of "once upon a time", this 1929 US document (click here) does describe such a thread - so maybe winston was actually born in, or fairly soon after, the 19th century??

Kind Regards, John