Ancient but reliable potterton diplomat 41/48 kettling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have a Potterton diplomat 41/48, with an indirect feed to the hot water system, and a separate pumped feed to radiators, currently not used.A fault on the header system allowed some air into the system, noticed as the boiler was kettling, and one pipe to the HW tank was hot, the other cold.

The header tank system is working again, and the gravity fed hot water system is circulating ie the return pipe is hot now, and we have hot water.The system is kettling for a little while before it turns off, and I'm assuming that there may be some scale in the boiler system, or that the gravity fed indirect hot water system has some air or scale in it preventing proper circulation.

Or do I just turn the thermostat down for summer? Do indirect systems usually have a bleed valve or are they arranged so air is pushed straight back out into the header tank as it fills? I would think they are...

I think there are some plates on the front of the boiler, I expect it is likely to be useful to drain the system, and remove these to try to remove scale in the boiler directly.? I have no manual or info for this model, but similar looking larger models have water chamber plates for this purpose in some pdf docs I found on the net.

Any suggestions gratefully received.
cheers
Rissole

Sponsored Links
Why bother with such an old fuel wasting boiler. If you insist on doing the work then the waterway covers can be removed (after draining) and boiler can be cleaned out. Replacing the rubber gaskets will be required and they may not be available. They can be made from suitable rubber sheet and cut to size. You have major problems however if the studs holding the covers are rusted and break during removal. I have done several like this but not for the last 20 years.

As with any old open vent system, your system is probably heavily corroded. You need a pro to get rid of the limescale/magnetite.