1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Another hive and combi boiler Query

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by oldspark, 13 Dec 2020.

  1. oldspark

    oldspark

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I have read lots of threads about installing a hive unit to my combi boiler, its a ( Vaillant ecoTEC pro 28 ) I have connected the unit up at the boiler using the existing wiring with the link between L and 1 and switch wire out from 3 ( seems to be the correct wiring according to these forums )but it will not fire up at all. green lights on the unit and hub but nothing is happening
    when i remove the stat and put the original back on it works no problem. all I done was connect the cables like for like but it will not fire up the boiler
    would it be something to do with the hive set up or do i have to do something with the settings in the boiler to get it going.
    thanks for your help lads
    oldspark
     
  2. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,582
    Thanks Received:
    1,519
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    From the limited information you give that sounds reasonable, provided that you have the Single Channel Version of Hive and that the boiler is wired for 230V control and not 24v.

    If you are just wanting to remove an old thermostat and move the existing wires from it to the Hive receiver, then you need to provide details of the existing thermostat and the wires going to it for a definitive answer, this is because there are several different methods of wiring them.

    On the other hand, if you are wiring the Hive directly to the boiler, then again there are several variants of Vaillant ecoTECH connections as they have changed over time, but if your version has terminals like below and you have removed the existing thermostat wiring, then:

    Capture.JPG

    OPTION 1*

    Hive L & N connects to L and N

    Hive terminals 1 & 3 connect to boiler 3 & 4 where the 'bridge' is shown above

    Do not add a link between L & 1

    or:

    OPTION 2*

    Hive L & N connects to L & N above

    Hive L and 1 are linked

    Hive 3 connects to boiler 4

    *You should only do this if you can access the boiler terminals without opening up a room sealed compartment to get to them. Othewise it's a job for an RGI who can make the necessary safety checks afterwards.

    If the boiler has integral time control this should set to be permanently on 24/7 otherwise it will interfere with the operation of the Hive.
    If your boiler connections are different to above, post back their details and someone will be able to advise further.
     
    Last edited: 13 Dec 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    7,789
    Thanks Received:
    2,008
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What thermostat have you replaced? What year of pro 28? It’s on the serial number underneath, first 4 numbers.
     
  5. oldspark

    oldspark

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the replies I will be back with more information possibly at the weekend
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page