Hive connection to Worcester 30i

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by boovee, 20 Nov 2021.

  1. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I have managed to install a Hive ok to my combi boiler (Worcester 30i). However the heating will not come on. Tried a boost, and increasing temp on thermostat, but heating will not start. My hub, receiver are all connected up ok. Attached is the wiring (old unit, and new Hive). Does this look ok? Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. RandomGrinch

    RandomGrinch

    Joined:
    15 Jun 2021
    Messages:
    1,560
    Thanks Received:
    341
    Location:
    Wales
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    Is your hive a single, or dual channel unit?
    The wiring appears correct for the single channel receiver.
    See here for the difference for a dual channel receiver:
    https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/hive-dual-reciever-combi-boiler.516012/

    ...also the connection to the neutral and live terminals could be improved; strip some more of the cable and capture the wire better in the terminal.

    ...and officially, the earth in the cable should be terminated in the earth terminal! It's probably doing no harm where it is though ;)
     
    Last edited: 20 Nov 2021
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  4. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,742
    Thanks Received:
    2,665
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Timer on boiler set to on?
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,995
    Thanks Received:
    10,093
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    as @CBW says do you ave any other controls ? timers , thermostats ? anything ?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Yes.
    Thanks. Yes it is a single. I`ll strip some more cable back like you say. Earth was never connected on old receiver, hence left as is.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. Yes it is
     
  8. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There are no other components i.e timers, controller etc.
     
  9. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just wondering, I assume link wire between L and 1 is needed (as this was set up on the original connection)???
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    9,742
    Thanks Received:
    2,665
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, as it’s volt free contacts, only not needed on the dual channel. Have you tried connecting the old receiver back up, or linking the wires, just to rule out a boiler fault?
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,995
    Thanks Received:
    10,093
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Post a pic of the control panel of your boiler
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Old controller is back on and everything working ok. I`m going to try again tomorrow.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     

    Attached Files:

  15. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    23,995
    Thanks Received:
    10,093
    Location:
    Livingston
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No the front panel with the controls on it
     
  16. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
     

    Attached Files:

  17. boovee

    boovee

    Joined:
    27 May 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Merseyside
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just as an update to this. Nothing changed with my wiring. I just didn`t "click" the back plate on correctly so now I did and all is running ok. So, for any others looking at this, for my setup, I needed to link L and 1 on the Hive receiver back plate. Thanks for the advice and confirmation. Hope it helps someone else.
     
    • Like Like x 2
Loading...

Share This Page