Another Utility Sink Gurgling Question..

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good Evening

DIY newbie here, myself and DIY just don’t mix. If you see me with a spanner or hammer just run in the other direction.

Anyway we have just bought a 1963 semi which needs a little TLC in fact needs a lot of TLC.

First things first we installed a new washing machine in the Utility room and now each time either the washing machines drains or the sink is used the sink gurgles.

I have tried HG Sink Unblocker after reading on the internet and I thought I would just give it a go but the sink doesn’t appear to be blocked as it’s drains fine. I’ve even tried bleach and even hot water down the plug hole but nope doesn’t appear to work.

Anyway reading other posts with similar issues and people talking about venting air etc i thought I would join up and post my story to see if anyone had an idea.

A few pictures of what the pipework looks like today to see if I need to alter the pipework etc.

upload_2020-10-25_21-25-30.jpeg

upload_2020-10-25_21-25-50.jpeg

From what I can see there is a cold and hot feed coming in front right to left, the cold T piece is for the tap and the washing machine.

The waste water from the washing machine goes into the left hand outlet of the main middle pipework ( sorry not technical so probably got the names totally wrong here )

Any help or guidance would be fantastic.

Regards
Stu

Sponsored Links
The hot and cold supply pipework is a bit of a lash up quite frankly, with Unsupported pipes and joints under strain. The waste pipework under the sink ain't too bad ,and typical of a lot of set ups. There are two inlets for appliances ,one of which is in use and the other one should be capped ....is it ?
A better set up would be for appliances waste to go into a seperate standpipe and trap ,rather than go into the sinks waste pipe ,which have a tendency to gurgle .

Hi Terry