Anyone know how to get this painting effect on metal?

DMA

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I was wondering if anyone could help me with how to do the effect shown in the pics bellow?

Someone wanted me to paint their outdoor gate railings and I was going to use a Dulux Metal Shield paint system on them, but then today they showed me a swing that had the effect bellow and they wanted me to try and get the same effect on their railings.

It looks like copper and black. I was thinking that maybe it was achieved by first painting the metle with the copper and then maybe spraying the metal with black paint?

-Id rather not spray the gates though because Id need to buy a spray tent (I have a airless Wagner spray machine) and one of the gates at the house is about maybe 14ft tall so I wouldn't really want to take it of to try and spray something that big as I am new to spraying and there is a lot of nice masonry bricks and paving around the gates which I dont want to get paint on.

I was wondering if maybe I could achieve this effect by just using brush's and first prime the gates with the Dulux Trade Metalshield Zinc Phosphate Primer, then put a patchy cote of copper paint, and then maybe getting the black Metal shield gloss top cote paint mix it with lots of white spirit (30 % white spirit / 70% black gloss %??) to make a type of translucent glaze and then give the gate 1-2 cotes of this glaze mix so that the cooper could be seen through the finishing glaze cotes?

-I'm guessing that would possibly ruin the Metalshields durability though and it would maybe fail and clack and peal a lot sooner than normal? (the person whos house it is will prob get it redone after 3-4 years even if I were to just put on the Metalshield without mixing it with white spirit though anyways...)