1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Atmos or Intergas

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Brightonguy, 7 Sep 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I am considering fitting an Atmos or Intergas combi because of the reputation for reliability of these combis. Does anyone know if a service agent is around the Brighton area? Also, will companies take these boilers on a maintenance contract?

    ta.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. doitall

    doitall

    Joined:
    8 Jan 2005
    Messages:
    19,003
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    Bath
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Atmos is a re-branded Intergas so they are the same boiler.

    You have GMB plumbing and Heating and DJ plumbing and heating in Brighton posibly others now.

    Alternatively is Melvin Cox a good guy in Worthing.

    No reason they shouldn't take them on a service contract.

    If your an RGI get access to the CC, every other post is about Intergas.
     
  4. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. It seems parts and service is not problem then. Intergas is talked about so does that mean they are good? I believe the Atmos has the pressure vessel on a hinge at the front and the Intergas behind the boiler. On the Intergas can pipe be run behind the boiler in the mounting frame.

    Do both have weather compensation?
     
  5. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When it is fitted, try and use weather comp or set the heating to 65. Unless you have a water softener.


    Your water is crazy hard.
     
  6. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Dan. It is best to have an inline scale reducer? The magnetic type? Will Brighton scale cake up an Atmos/intergas quickly?
     
  7. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Those inline things are as useful as a chocolate teapot.

    Scale is the Achilles heel of this boiler, but effective treatment is required for all boilers so it a rather moot point.

    Running the heating down low like I suggested should be fine. We have installed hundreds in London and the home counties and the ones setup thus have been fine. Those left on factory default settings have scaled up after a few years.
     
  8. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I see. DHW siting in the heater exchanger can scale up because of high CH temperatures?

    I suppose slightly large rads will mean a lower running temperature as well. The weather, can this be set so that 65C is the maximum?
     
  9. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The slope for the weather sensor is very easy to adjust.

    What is best for your home will depend on the type of building you have.

    Make sure you eliminate as many draughts as possible.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    One point between the two "makes". The Atmos has a front mounted pressures vessel on a hinge, which is a great idea as it takes minutes to change. The Intergas has its vessel on a frame behind the boiler, which is obviously more difficult to change. Does the Intergas frame allow pipes to be behind the combi to easy connect when pipe are dropping from the ceiling above? Running pipe around the combi and up to the connections would be a pain and ugly, while neatly putting them behind would make life and looks easier.
     
  12. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The Atmos boiler is the older version of the Intergas.

    The mounting jog for the Intergas is not a requirement - you can fit the vessel remotely.

    You might be able to get a good deal on the Atmos as they only have a few left - the only real downside - apart from the physical size - is the 2 year warranty compared to a 5 year on the Intergas (when fitted by an approved installer).


    You can buy the Intergas from Atmos too though ;).

    A decent installer will find ways of running the pipes up the back without the mounting frame ;).
     
  13. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dan, thanks. Of course using unitstrut will take the boiler off the wall and allow pipes behind, which is time, etc. But will the mounting frame allow running of pipes behind the boiler on the Intergas? Having a separate pressure vessel is not an option here.

    Why is the front hinged pressure vessel dropped? Such a great idea.

    More points.
    Does the Intergas have an integral filling loop?
    Does the Intergas have an integral auto by-pass valve?

    Just an observation. I have the impression that the hinged Atmos pressure vessel can be fitted to an Intergas.

    ta.
     
  14. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can run the pipes IIRC, but it takes a little care and thought on the part of the installer.

    The internal expansion vessel was removed to allow the flue to run up the front instead of the back of the boiler. This aids future servicing. The new version of the boiler is also shorter which would have meant fatter vessels needed.

    There are no internal filling loops (not a bad thing).
    No bypass valve internally (not a bad thing).

    You can not fit the vessel inside the Intergas. The flue is where it would go, the case isn't cut for the bracket, the vessel is too long, and it would be illegal even if all of the above weren't a factor.

    These are all issues for the installer to worry about though, not you.
     
  15. Brightonguy

    Brightonguy

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Tanks Dan. Just another point. Can the Intergas be easily zoned off for upstairs and downstairs? Any major or minor issues? I prefer two zone valves not the 3-way efforts. I do not want wall stats as rad vales are all around. I just want two clocks in the cupboard the combi being fit.
     
  16. Dan Robinson

    Dan Robinson

    Joined:
    1 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    56,034
    Thanks Received:
    9,420
    Location:
    Hertfordshire & London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is zoned the same as any other boiler.

    However not having room thermostats of bonkers.

    The trvs do not shut the boiler off and will cause short cycling.


    You should discuss this with your installer as it is part of the building regulations.
     
  17. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    64,017
    Thanks Received:
    4,591
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A room stat is always required to ensure the boiler turns off when all the TRVs have closed odd.

    As stated its required in Building Regs as well as being more sensible as well to avoid wasting fuel.

    Tony
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page