Banging noices from boiler - Urgent expert help required!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I recently bought a flat and having major problems to get the central heating/hot water system to work.

I am no DIY expert and therefore called out an 'expert' on the recomendation of a friends's friend.

He came, shook his head after inspection :evil: and told me it needs changing several parts such as the electronic programmer switch, motor, some pipe fitting etc and quoted a price of £450. Eventhough I didn't expect such a large bill, I have had no choice but to go for it. Anyway, he fitted the new parts and now says the system needs some sort of cleaning. He is asking for another £250 to get it to work. I'm not sure even after what he says is done the system will work properly.

The current situation is as follows:

When I turn the system on, the boiler starts to fire and I can see the flames through the small glass panel at the front. However, after about 5-10 minutes, banging noices are coming from the boiler and the pipework surrounding it starts to shake. If I leave it then the system seems to cut-out automatically. Naturally, I am with no hot water at the moment and as a result cannot move in.

The boiler we have is a Potterton Netaheat 50. The boiler looks ok in outward appearance. The new control/electronic switch fitted is made by Honeywell.

The property is an ex-Council, 1 bed room, ground floor property in Hackney, London.

Can anyone help please on the way forward? After buying the property, I'm skint and therefore looking for an economical but a safe solution. Would also appreciate any local expert (genuine CORGI registered) recomendation.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Best regards,

Joel

Sponsored Links
"""I am no DIY expert and therefore called out an 'expert' on the recomendation of a friends's friend"""