Bathroom supplementary equipotential bonding

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just refurbishing abathroom and would appreciate some advice please.I am not an electrician but try to ensure a job is left safe as well as funtionaland looking pretty.The shower is on a 10 mm radial 45 amp MCB and RCD protected, the extractor and blower heater are in zone 3 and on the upstairs ring final RCD protected circuit and externally isolated.My problem is the lighting circuit is off the upstairs circuit and not RCD protected and no supplementry equipotential bonding is installed.I have checked that M.E.B. is inplace to services and connected to M.E.T. All piework is copper with metal compression or soldered jointing, all pipes at boiler are cross bonded and wastes in bathroom are plastic.I have noticed that a previos electrician has linked the cpcs of the shower pullcord and lihgting.My question is would it be acceptable to just get my electrician to bond the cpc of the lighting circuit to the water feeds to the sink bath and tiolet as there seems to be no other metal parts to introduce a potential.The customer does not want to put all the upstairs lighting on RCD.Also for my education, and I know on this forum I have seen mixed views about this, the 17th says that provided certain criteria are met if all circuits are RCD protected supplementry bonding in bathrooms can be ommitted but what is wrong with linking all cpcs of bathroom circuits and supplementry bonding (a sort of belt and bracers job) in case of RCD failure. your views would be very much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
hi o/p you state that the shower is mcb and rcd protected, is the rcd the actual mains switch and rated at 30ma if so, then your mcbs are fed via a rcd and you should be ok, if not you will have to bond the bath.