Bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom

Hi all I am a newbie here and this is my first post! I really want to decorate my bathroom. I am toying between having wooden panelling (tongue and groove?) or tiles. Which would be the easiest of the two? I have done neither before but want something different than wallpaper which is in there now. My partner will be helping me, although he is in the same boat as me having never done either of them before also. The bathroom is only small and the tiling would be everwhere. Also I would like to 'box' in my sink to hide all the nasty pipe work behind there. Is there an easy way to do this? Any advice, tips, hints etc will all be greatfully accepted! Cheers!

Sponsored Links
Hello babaladeexx

I've just taken the existing tiles off from round the bath, and used tongue and groove cladding to dado rail height all round the bathroom.

(I tried to see how it would look with cladding upto picture rail and ceiling height, but I've got very high ceilings and I don't think it looked right.)

I didn't tile primarily because of the cost, but also because I thought cladding would be easier and the fact that my walls aren't flat.

I bought the dado rail with a slot so that the cladding fits behind it, this made fixing it a lot easier as it doesn't have to be pinned onto batons. I also replaced the skirting and ran the bottom of the cladding behind that. I think you can buy skirting with a groove, it fits flush to the wall and the cladding slots into this, but this was a lot more expensive when I priced it up. (I bought my bits from a seconds wood yard)

It was straightforward, and I don't have a lot of experience with carpentry. I borrowed an electric mitre saw and this made cutting the lenghts of cladding to size really quick.