Battle with flakey wall paint

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm a novice looking for advice. We moved into an old cottage and soon after noticed some of the internal walls were flaking away in places, with the paint turning into very fine dust and stripping right back to the plaster. I've had a decorator round to fix it, he tried to by doing coats of stabiliser and then re painting - 1 month on and it's flaking right bck to the plaster again! I would appreciate any advice as I have no idea how to stop this problem! Thanks

Sponsored Links
It might be distemper. Scrape some flakes off. Put some in warm water, and some in boiling water. Do they dissolve and smell unpleasant?

Just done that, no dissolving from either cup. The warm cup smelt a bit funnier but I wouldn't say unpleasant. The problem appears to be with the wall behind as the paint was fresh on...very confusing!

'mmmm

Is the plaster old and white, or modern and pink? Does it have a glass-like smoothness? If you rub it, does plaster dust come off on your hand?

Is there a possibility it has wallpaper paste residue, or PVA glue, which is very bad?

If an old cottage, it might be damp related. Tape a piece of clear plastic tightly to the wall, see if beads of water or mist appear on either side of it.

If the decorator is an experienced local person, I expect he would be familiar with old cottages like yours, and the materials and techniques, so better able to diagnose. When do you think this flaky paint was applied?

Sponsored Links