Beginner - stripping paint and painting plaster questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm a complete beginner to decorating, so I'm afraid this is a bit of a long post with lots of questions. Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

BACKGROUND
I've recently moved house, and decided to redecorate the master bedroom. It had been wallpapered, and then the wallpaper had been painted over. I didn't like the colour of the paint, and the wallpaper was starting to lift off and peel, especially along the seams, so my plan was to strip off the wallpaper and paint the walls.

ISSUES
I managed to get the wallpaper off OK, but discovered there is a layer of paint under the wallpaper, which is flaking off and exposing the bare plaster. I'm now in the process of getting the paint off using a wallpaper stripper blade - very slow work! Two of the walls are solid and properly plastered, and a steamer is making the paint removal a bit faster. The other two walls are just plasterboard - the steamer just makes them soggy and more prone to damage, so I stopped using it and I'm just carefully chipping the paint off bit by bit. Even though I'm trying to be gentle, this is causing a small amount of damage in places (dents and scratches).

QUESTIONS
Here are the questions (sorry there are so many of them...)
1) Is chipping/scraping the paint off with a sharp wallpaper stripping blade the best way to remove the paint?
2) Once the paint is all off, should I repair the damage to the plasterboard using filler and then sand it down, or is there something I should do instead (such as hang lining paper)?
3) When I go to paint the wall, do I need to clean the plaster and plasterboard first, or do I just apply the mist coat straight away?
4) How many mist coats should I use for both the plaster and plasterboard?
5) Do I need to put joint tape (sorry, not sure what it's called) in the two corners of the room where the plastered wall meets the plasterboard wall?

Many thanks.