black live switch wire.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just taken down a light fitting in the house and as I removed it the red tape on the black switch wire fell off (age I guess).
I have a tester here that looks like a screw driver that lights up when you touch wires.
Can I use this if I turn on the power and touch the black coating on the wire.
total novice and I can not afford to get a spark out so would love to know if this is possible without getting a shock.

Sponsored Links
neon screwdrivers are awful

you can get a multimeter at any DIY shed or hardware store for about £10

while you are there buy some red sleeving to use on live black wires in future, and some green/yellow for earth wires. You will most likely find some that need it.

thank you John.

Been made redundant so cash is very tight thats why I thought I could use this old Neon.
Didnt know though if it was safe to just turn on the power and touch the black plastic sleeving on the wire.
If you think thats dangerous then I will have to find the cash from somewhere to buy a multi meter but then I have not a clue as to how to use it.
really wish I could just call a spark out but I am just skint and cant afford it.

touching the black insulation will not do anything. You need to touch the copper conductor anyway.

A cheap multimeter will do a lot of things for you, we can explain it to you. It wil probably not wear out, but the test leads will.

Sponsored Links
You should have three black wires.
a) return from switch line
b) neutral feed to lamp
c) neutral feed from lamp.
Without knowing which is which you can only safely connect two at a time as if switch line is connected to neutral then it would be short circuit so I will consider the options.
Neutral disconnected other two in any configuration – nothing works. Max number of times needed to find this three so three attempts neutral is found.