Bled Radiator Now No Heat or Hot Water!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There

I am a complete boiler novice so bear with me.

Last night I bled one of the radiators in the hall which was only hot at the bottom. It worked a treat and I got full heat restored to the radiator.

Today however, I can no longer get any central heating or hot water.
I have a Gas Baxi Bermuda boiler which is mounted behind the fireplace. The pilot light is lit but when I switch on the heating and turn up the thermostat, the boiler doesnt fire up.

Could this be a problem with the boiler.
Just seems a bit coincedental that this problem would start after I bled radiator.

My hot water/heating is gravity fed I believe and I have 2 tanks up high in one of my cupboards. A large one with a ballcock which seems to fill up when I have used hot water, and a smaller tank which I guess is the overflow which has a small opening near the bottom of the tank. In the past when I bled the radiators I was told by a friend that I needed to top up this overflow tank so the water line was above the opening. I did this last night after bleeding the radiator and wonder if this may have caused the problem.

I have shut down the boiler and re-started. I have tried switching off power and re-booting etc but to no avail

Does anyone have any ideas ?

Thank you kindly in advance for any helpful replies

cheers
Stallos

Sponsored Links
It might have fired once, short of water, so overheated then refused to light until cool. ??
Check any air bleed point near HW cylinder, if there is one.
Could also try bleeding and spinning the pump but I doubt it would have got air in from bleeding a rad. Undo central screw and insert flat screwdriver - varies with pump. (They all dribble)
Recheck water level in the small tank.

But the boiler doesn't know if there's water or air in it, until it lights!

Chris, thank you for the reply.
I will give what you suggest a try.

What level should the small tank be filled to ?