blending plaster into stone where window boards removed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone.

My baby girl is due in less tan 2 weeks and we were decorating her bedroom. When I got to the window, all the timber (it used to be a sash window so had ply from wall to window if you know what I mean) was all damp and knackered. I have removed all that and solved the cause of the damp (I hope!!).

I want to leave the stone exposed and just tidy the plaster work up but I have never done any plastering before at all. The walls are boarded so there is a slight gap on one side, stuffed with paper on the other and is a bigger gap at the ceiling.

Am I correct in my thinking that I fill the bigger gaps up with foam, then just bung a load of multi finish at it and smooth it off?

Thanks everyone, I have searched everywhere but the info doesn't seem applicable to this one.

Phill

Sponsored Links
You could dot and dab poly backed plaster board up the sides and head. Get a normal cill fitted first, I would put a strip of dpc up the side of the windows and along the head first then dot and dab the boards on (let the boards run past the wall about 2 inches so you can trim and dress them up when it has all gone off, and also trim back the excess dpc. Use the thinest poly back board as you will still have a bit of a margin on your window frame then. When you "dress" the boards you could knock off some of the plaster all around the window then fit some plastic beads over the join (put some scrim tape on first) and then feather it all in to the original plaster..Easy eh... ;)

Hi Phill,

I'm not sure multi-finish would be the most ideal as it's only really meant for a skim coat 2-3 mm thick...maybe one coat plaster would be more suitable as you can use use it in much thicker applications.