1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Boiler issue after power cut

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by vegasgo, 8 Jan 2021.

  1. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Our area had a power cut this morning and since then our boiler is playing up.

    It's a Worcester combi 30i. Have reset it and changed the fuse, no different. It's displaying code 026 which is unfamiliar and cannot find what this means.

    Though power is back on, UK Power Network have informed us that full voltage has yet to be restablished and may take a few days - in the meantime they will be installing temporary generators.

    Been informed that the boiler may not work on reduced volatge - is this really true? If something has blown in it I'm not sure we can wait until full power is restored to find out.

    Several households reporting similar issues in the area - one has already paid for a new board, but unclear if it was still powered.

    Though no heating strangely we have hot water and the boiler is making a little noise (we have no hot water tank). Eco light lit.

    What do you think?

    Thanks for reading.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. cross thread

    cross thread

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    1,540
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    worlds end
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A lot of modern boilers don’t like voltage issues, can you have the incoming voltage tested
     
  4. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Homeserve won't come out as beyond their t&cs, will see if these temporary generators make a difference.
     
  5. jelliottelectrical

    jelliottelectrical

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I seem to remember this happening on a job of mine after a power interruption. 026 is a fault with the pairing for the room thermostat. Do you have a wireless room stat?
     
  6. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,892
    Thanks Received:
    8,115
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure it is not A26 fault code
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes wireless thermostat. Definitely 026 code. Pressure is fine.
     
  9. jelliottelectrical

    jelliottelectrical

    Joined:
    14 Nov 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    given that the hot water works, I’d say have a look at the thermostat. Is the one where the receiver is integral to the boiler
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,892
    Thanks Received:
    8,115
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try re-binding the wireless thermostat
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. vegasgo

    vegasgo

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    111
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Turns out the receiver was kaput, time to upgrade to Hive I think.
     
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,892
    Thanks Received:
    8,115
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    dont be too hasty , contact your electric supplier and tell them the power cut caused it to fail, they will give you a few hundred quid towards what you decide to go for
     
Loading...

Share This Page