Boiler pressure loss through condensate pipe?

gtg

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I'm looking for some advice with a pressure loss issue that has been driving me mad for a while! It's on my vaillant 637 ecotec boiler, which is losing about 0.5-0.7 bar of pressure per day at present.

Just to be clear - I am not a professional so will not be attempting to do any work on the system myself. I'm just trying to understand what might be wrong.

There are no obvious leaks on rads, and the PRV discharge pipe is bone dry. I think that leaves leaking pipe under a floor, or cracked heat exchanger as the chief suspects.

Before I start ripping floors up to search for a leak, I noticed earlier today that the water coming from the plastic condensate pipe is rusty/orangey brown. Does this sound like a cracked heat exchanger causing pressure loss, or is it normal for the water to be this colour?

Are there any simple tests to confirm whether this is the cause of the leak?

Let me know if any more info or pics would help.

Thanks all for reading

Sponsored Links
yes a simple test, you should be able to disconnect the condensate hose where it comes out of the boiler, turn the pressure up to about 2 Bar and turn the boiler completely off, put the condensate hose into some kind of container and see if it gets water in when turned off, if it does new heat exchanger time

Brilliant, thank you Ian. I'll give that a go tomorrow.
Just out of interest, does the corrosion in the water sound unusual?

Brilliant, thank you Ian. I'll give that a go tomorrow.
Just out of interest, does the corrosion in the water sound unusual?
could be a few things but bleed a little water from a radiator and see if its the same colour, if it is could be a pinholed heat exchanger, wont be the heat exchanger discolouring it, that is made from Stainless steel

• Thanks
Reactions: gtg
Sponsored Links