bosch 28CDi water valve & pressure

ddd

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

This morning I raised the pressure on my Worcester Bosch 28CDi Combi boiler to about 1.2 (for the first time, i am new to this), by following the instructions manual and also this thread

//www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=260138#260138

However, I still needed to bleed some radiators, and I did. The problem is that the pressure went down back to 0 after this, and now I cannot raise the pressure again! The water valve does not 'open', or water is not flowing (I cannot hear the 'sound'). I keep turning the valve (anti clock wise) endlessly but nothing happens. Why?! I just did it 2 hours ago and now I can't. Is it something silly I am missing or have I broken something?

thanks
ddd

Sponsored Links
if you can turn the valve endlessly, it is gone. the original bosch ones have a clear beginning and end for the movement. they are designed to be used without force and are known to give up when you use them without due care. more bad news i am afreaid. if you had so much air in the system that the pressure gauge went down to 0, you should make sure you know where the water is going and do something about it.

Are you sure that the little grey knob is actually turning the spindle.

They are a bit crappy and tend to spin on the shaft.

yes, the grey knob is turning (I've taking it out and checked that the flat side of the internal white knob is turning).
it looks like the valve may be gone,as there's no end to the turning. I dont think I forced it though! Where's the water going? good question. I have no leaks as far as I know.

Sponsored Links
Pull off the grey knob & try to gently turn the white spindle with a pair of pliers. If this works you will just need a new knob if not you will need a charging link assy which can be tricky as they have being modified

Where's the water going? good question. I have no leaks as far as I know.