Bow in Roof - How big could the problem be?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
I am looking at buying a new house and after settling on one I noticed that the roof has a bow in it the is quite noticeable. It looks like it has concrete tiles, and has had a loft conversion, I am no expert but would suspect that the rafters were not strengthened adequately when the conversion was done. Firstly does anybody know what sort of issues this could cause? secondly what kind of fix may be required, and is it a very big job? The house is ideal in other ways, and I would be prepared to pay up to 5k to fix the issue but if it is going to be a complete nightmare then I may have to walk away.

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
im sure if there is a problem then your surveyor would pick the problem up?

I assume the bow is noticeable along the ridge of the roof. This is most likely to be eaves spread caused by insufficient tying of the rafters at wall plate level, quite probably by the alteration of the roof truss arrangement/structure. Addition of a new heavier roof covering will have made it worse or just made it noticeable.

Patress plates and tie bars used to be a solution, but have proved over history to not be a lasting solution as the walls tend to bow out around the plates and only delay things.

Best solution is to tie the existing rafters at the wall plate level, but this might not fit in with the floor levels, and will not cure the bow in the roof, just prevent future movement. It would also be very difficult to do with the roof on.

To remove the bow will require the roof off. Installing a steel ridge beam and re-roofing - should prevent future movement and restore a nice straight roof line. Costs more than likely over you £5k budget.

If you're buying on a mortgage the surveyor should pick up the roof problems, and find out if building regs were submitted at the time of the loft conversion, then recommend a structural report.