broken wickes wc cistern

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
mum of a friend has a wickes wc cistern with some mechanical linkage and its broken I have been sent the pictures but cant be bothered to post them as I don't want the job I believe the cistern is concealed in some bathroom furniture
my question is there an easy remedy I am looking to pass on advice only as these jobs arnt my stock in trade
it does sound like a little job that isn't going to go well

Sponsored Links
I,ve been in this game 40 odd years I know an all day take the cheap bathroom furniture apart, find spares that arnt for sale, put it all together and all for a big thank you and a few quid
if you need this job I,ll pass your details along

I,ve been in this game 40 odd years I know an all day take the cheap bathroom furniture apart, find spares that arnt for sale, put it all together and all for a big thank you and a few quid
not sure if i can sort it out.. i'm an apprentice trained coded welder with 42 years experience ...but could have a good crack lol

Sponsored Links

I do know how you feel... No good deed goes unpunished and all that! I have a SIL who thinks a day's work from me is worth a few cups of tea and a smile... Said smile soon fades when I give her a reality check :rolleyes:

However, do post the photos. We may be able to give you some guidance which you can use to explain what's involved to your friend. :)

think banjodean could be the man practical skills mechanical bias this is a cable operated lever/cam operated syphon he comes across as a really decant bloke and he might point me in some sort of direction the picture I refered to were taken by the lady and arnt that helpful I was going to restrict myself to advice only as these job usually go need a new operating button new one is bigger/smaller different shape so you need a new mdf panel its the wrong shade/profile/size and the job goes on and on