BT Telephone Master - Toolstation replacement query

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks,

My BT master socket is in our master bedroom, which I'm currently redecorating. I'll be replacing all sockets, switches, TV points etc with screwless flat chrome.

I've bought a phone socket from Toolstation, described as a Master, listed here (item # 52322) http://www.toolstation.com/shop/Electrical/ScrewlessFlatChrome/d190/sd3110

The problem is, the socket only has krone type connections 1-6 on the back, nothing else. The ring capacitor is there so I could see that this socket would be fine for the phone that is plugged into the front, however for extension wiring there is nowhere else to wire to - I'd have to wire the extension wiring and the line from outside to the same krone connections, which I seem to remember is a bad thing.

Does anyone know whether this would be OK? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Hi Im not an expert on this so take my answer with a pinch of salt,
but I have wired my phone lines all from the the same socket, as you suggest and I have had no problems upto now :)
the only problem i have found though with buying such "master sockets" is they do not have the surge protection in there, not sure how much this is needed as was so long ago I done mine I forgot what the outcome was from speaking with people.
However, my thought is go for it :D

fire extingusiher on standby incase i am shot down in flames :LOL:

Right- BT will get antsy if you remove the old master socket / NTE box that they own and is the main demarcation point between your stuff (customer supplied) and theirs.

So from the BT master socket you terminate 3 wires on the 2,5,and 3.

Since you have a master BT socket, from the BT socket all other sockets should be simple secondary units (without the capacitor).
So cut the capacitor out of your master if you don't want to exchange it (it will work as a 2ndry)