Bubbling flaking paint a sign of condensation or worse?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I hope this is the correct forum to be asking this.

I live in an end terrace and on the corners of each room at the gable wall, the paint is peeling and bubbling off. There is also some wet looking staining on the wall, which are quite low down up to about waist height. I have marked these spots in red in the diagram. This is also happening on the first floor in the front room above the living room right into the corner. In a couple of the rooms, you can see in the top corner, what looks like where water has run off the cornicing.

I think that this is caused by condensation on the colder outside walls, but I am by no means an expert. I make a point of not drying clothes on the radiators in these rooms, but the dining room gets some steam from the kitchen while cooking. We also had a damp proof course installed about 2 years ago.

Would this be likely due to condensation, or does it seem likely that the DPC has failed (obviously this isn't the case on the first floor)? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
These are typical areas where condensation occurs due to lack of air movement.

Try not to cycle your heating so that it is warm when you are in and awake, and off when you are out and asleep - rather try to maintain a constant heat at a slightly lower temperature than you are used to, only turning up the heat if it gets uncomfortably cold.

The dampness is likely to be surface deep, or only just into the plaster, but being damp it will stay cold and attract more condensation.

Ordinary desk fans on the lowest setting pointed in the general area of those corners , with the cupboard doors open will dry them out, and they will warm up to the same temperature as the rest of the room so that condensation will not continue to occur. The fans can be moved room to room to alternate time and places for this treatment.