Building a timber framed lean to Greenhouse

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,
I plan to build a timber framed lean to green house, with polycarbonate glazing. The timber work is not a problem, but I have never used Polycarbonate sheeting before. I have been reading around on the web and have found out that I can join the polycarbonate sheets together, using roof bars supported by timber joists.
Questions I have are:
1. Can I use the same principles for joining polycarbonate sheets for the vertical walls of the greenhouse as for the sloping roof, i.e., the different tapes needed (top and bottom), using vertcally mounted roofbars and end caps ?
2. Is there an easy way of joining polycarbonate sheets which meet at 90 degrees, e.g. the roof to the sides, or would it be better to use a wooden sofit board instead, which hides the joins and use F sections to end the polycarbonate rather than end caps ?

Thanks in advance for you help

Sponsored Links
RogGriffin said:
Hello,
I plan to build a timber framed lean to green house, with polycarbonate glazing. The timber work is not a problem, but I have never used Polycarbonate sheeting before. I have been reading around on the web and have found out that I can join the polycarbonate sheets together, using roof bars supported by timber joists.
Questions I have are:
1. Can I use the same principles for joining polycarbonate sheets for the vertical walls of the greenhouse as for the sloping roof, i.e., the different tapes needed (top and bottom), using vertcally mounted roofbars and end caps ?
2. Is there an easy way of joining polycarbonate sheets which meet at 90 degrees, e.g. the roof to the sides, or would it be better to use a wooden sofit board instead, which hides the joins and use F sections to end the polycarbonate rather than end caps ?

Thanks in advance for you help