Building sites 110v

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I have been working on building sites for over 6 years and sometimes i see that people have connected a 110v plug onto a 240v extension lead so they can plug in 240v power tool chargers into the big 110v transformers, is this safe to do ? and how would you go about doing it as I am on a big site and do not trust people when leaving battery's on charge in the canteens and I am working 6 floors up.

Thanks in advanced. :)

Sponsored Links
Look on your charger. If it says something like 100-230v, just chop the 240v plug off and fit a 110.

Do you mean connecting a 230v appliance to a 110v supply? Or are you just talking about the colour of the lead?

Just because something is yellow or blue does not 100% guarantee the voltage

Thanks for the reply, they chop the 230v plug of a extention lead and put a 110v on it then plug it into the transformer then people plug there 230v chargers into the extention lead. Does that make Sense? I've even seen a kettle plugged in lol

Sponsored Links
as Lec' says, if your charger is rated for 110v you will be ok.

A kettle must take an age to boil at 110v!

Thanks for the reply, they chop the 230v plug of a extention lead and put a 110v on it then plug it into the transformer then people plug there 230v chargers into the extention lead. Does that make Sense? I've even seen a kettle plugged in lol
As Lectrician has said, it's very possible that the chargers are designed to work on either 110V or 230V (as he says, read what it says on them), in which case that would be fine. However, a 230V kettle would take rather a long time to boil on 110V (in theory, about 4 times as long as on 230V).

Edit: snap, Iggifer :)

Kind Regards, John

:LOL:

So of my charger worked on 110v could I put a 110v plug onto a 230v extention lead so I didnt have to change them to charge at work them home? As I've seen it done but do not know how to do it. Thanks